Bacteria, Virus and Fungi…Oh My!


We are about six weeks away from opening our restaurant and it’s time for something I have been putting off…hitting the books to study and take my CPFM exam. What, you ask, is a CPFM? Well, here in Florida that’s a Certified Professional Food Manager.

All food service establishments in Florida must have at least one CPFM on staff, so in our place, that’s me! I thought I was done with studying years ago, but alas, it’s back to the books for me. All the “running a kitchen”, etc. stuff comes easy, as I know that, but all this science-speak about bacteria, virus and fungi comes a little slower and harder for me, so I am burying my nose in the books and learning everything I can about the on-going battle to keep these critters out of our food sources!

On a more interesting note, one of my dear friends from a few years ago when I did my year-long roadtrip for a food magazine and dined at some of the best restaurants across the country (pre-recession), called to ask if I would consider doing a “Dining on a Dime” cross-country trip/article for her magazine. Boy did I hate to turn that assignment down, since my philosophy has always been that it doesn’t have to cost a fortune to make an elegant meal, but I did turn the assignment over to another writer who has the time for it right now, as I certainly don’t between this studying and getting the restaurant open.

In the meantime, while she is off on a tasty adventure, I will be spending my time with the various bacteria, virus and fungi…oh my!

About Chef Anne

Chef Anne and her husband Rob, own The Deli Diva which serves divalicious sandwiches, soups, salads, desserts and more at 1st Ave SW, in historic downtown Largo, Florida. Chef Anne is a culinary travel writer and book author. She has written weekly columns for AOL/Huffington Post and Tampa Bay Start, as well as many travel and food related articles for numerous publications. Her books are available for purchase here: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0080K92OW Rob is a talented metal artist, creating commissioned pieces of all types for his clients. From sculptures and garden art, as seen at the deli, to decorative estate iron gates and fences, he does it all. Stop by and try something fabulous dahling! Open M-F 11am to 3pm
This entry was posted in Countdown to Opening Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bacteria, Virus and Fungi…Oh My!

  1. Moi says:

    Studying. Sounds like…fun? But the results will be well worth it, I’m sure.

  2. Moi says:

    Surely, my web address is http://wwmhd.wordpress.com

    Thank you for asking!

Leave a Reply

